Loading...
× 8% off all bus tickets! Use code: TRAVELBUS during checkout. T&C apply

Kedah

Kedah Public Holidays

Public holiday in Kedah is generally the same as other states in Malaysia, except that it has three additional holidays fixed every year. The other Kedah holidays include the birthday of Sultan Kedah and Israk & Mikraj. The date of Sultan Kedah’s birthday depends on the current reigning Sultan, while Israk & Mikraj is celebrated on the 27th day of the seventh of the Islamic calendar (Rajab). Another holiday is Awal Ramadan, which is the first day of the month of fasting (Ramadan).

Besides Kedah, Negeri Sembilan and Perlis also celebrate Israk & Mikraj. This Islamic celebration is done to mark the night where Allah brought Prophet Muhammad on a journey to Jerusalem from Mecca before taking him up to the heavens. Muslims would celebrate this holiday by remembering the story of this event in Islamic history.

Kedah Public Holidays 2019 Dates

The dates for Kedah holiday 2019 that are stated below may have some adjustments if there are any official announcements made affecting the public holidays in Kedah.

Date Day Holiday
20 Jan Sunday Sultan of Kedah’s Birthday
5 Feb Tuesday Chinese New Year
6 Feb Wednesday Chinese New Year Holiday
3 Apr Wednesday Israk & Mikraj
1 May Wednesday Labour Day
6 May Monday Awal Ramadan
19 May Sunday Wesak Day
5 Jun Wednesday Hari Raya Aidilfitri
6 Jun Thursday Hari Raya Aidilfitri Holiday
11 Aug Sunday Hari Raya Haji
12 Aug Monday Hari Raya Haji Holiday
31 Aug Saturday Merdeka Day
1 Sep Sunday Awal Muharram
1 Sep Sunday Merdeka Day Holiday
9 Sep Monday Agong’s Birthday
16 Sep Monday Malaysia Day
27 Oct Sunday Deepavali
9 Nov Saturday Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday
25 Dec Wednesday Christmas Day

Book Tickets with Easybook for Kedah Holidays

With a total of 19 public holidays in Kedah expected to take place in 2019, people in Kedah can start drafting their holiday trips in advance to avoid any possible last-minute disappointments. At Easybook, travellers from Kedah can use up the off-days by booking bus, train or even ferry trips to the holiday destination of their choice in Malaysia.

Other than transportation tickets, Easybook also provides car rental, charter and local tour as part of the travel services. Travelling between some major cities in Kedah as well as other states in Malaysia can be made conveniently as Easybook has numerous routes offered for travellers. Start planning 2019 Kedah holidays with Easybook today and expect exciting news on travel promotions for public holiday seasons!

* Only 0.01% trips slightly higher than counter price. ** Only applicable for transactions without the use of discount code and trips offered by certain companies. *** For certain trips only, discount already reflected in the ticket price itself (i.e. lower price than bus counters). * Bus pictures are for reference only. * Trip durations are estimated time only.